V is for Vera Lynn and Vincent Price. The A-Z Of Cockney Rhyming Slang.

As the end of the A-Z Challenge draws ever nearer and people are beginning to exhibit signs ofa mental breakdown wind down, (and after the dismal failure of yesterday’s post…okay…it was pretty bad) I’m going to keep things simple from now on A genuine thank you to everyone who has read/commented on these posts over the past month.

V

Cockney rhyming slang-Vera Lynn (singer famous for entertaining the troops during the second World War)

Translation-Gin

Cockney rhyming slang-Vincent Price

Translation-Ice

Example-“Would you like some Vincent Price to go with your Vera?”

gin

~Lily

24 thoughts on “V is for Vera Lynn and Vincent Price. The A-Z Of Cockney Rhyming Slang.

  1. I’ve actually heard Vera Lynn used for gin, which might be unusual since I’m across the ocean in the US and don’t hear Cockney slang. I think I heard it used in an old movie years ago…”hey, bartender, I need a Vera Lynn on ice and I need it fast!”
    But I hadn’t heard Vincent Price used for ice before. The image of Vincent Price floating around in a glass of gin is pretty funny ha ha!

    Lily, I have thoroughly enjoyed all of your Cockney slang postings for the A-Z challenge, it’s been so interesting and great fun!! 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    • I think Vera Lynn is about 99 years old and she lives very local to me, but her name was a very common slang and so could have featured in a movie. When I was at school, Vincent Price was ‘lice’. “Eww, you’ve got Vincent Price!” But we probably just made that up.

      Thanks so much Madilyn, not only for reading, but for all your comments. You’ve been AMAZING! 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

  2. I am sure Vincent Price would be a happy man knowing that he will be forever remembered this way. . . . . . Look Miss lily all this thanking folk for being nice and visiting is just not on, it makes it sound like you are planning on buggering off somewhere to have a well earned rest, chilling and relaxing in the sun (ok not the sun, I’m sure I remember you are not a sun person). . . Well the point is, it is just not on, you owe it to your readers to carry on stressing and agonizing while the end of you fingers bleed from excessive typing. I mean you would not get some high fly business executive types ripping the heart out of say BHS leaving its workers and pensioners walking the streets would you, just so they can bugger off to their yachts in hotter and sunnier climates . . . . . . AH DAMN.

    I am still waiting with interest for what Z will be.

    Liked by 2 people

    • Hahahaha! You not only want me to stress and agonize but you want my fingers to bleed too? You are a hard task master Mr Z. I shall finish the challenge, but truthfully, my heart is no longer in it. Nor is my liver, my spleen, my kidneys, my intestines or my lungs. Expect even more substandard posts then ever before! And all for FREE!

      Like

  3. Ah Lily, I have enjoyed immensely your off-centre wackiness – do not cease to be the person you represented yourself to be – unless of course you wish to!

    Oh Hell, just do whatever makes you happy – I’m sure we will enjoy it 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Brett told me you were on this challenge – I totally forgot! I’m going to have to go back and read all of these. I was in theatre with an English lady once, and she instructed us in some of these.

    Like

    • Ere wot? Come again?!
      Need to put on my specs, cos every time I read chimmanees, it translates as chimpanzees and then I get this visual image of you sweeping up the prone bodies of monkeys.

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply I won't bite...okay, maybe a little nibble...

