T is for Tea Leaf, whilst U is for Unscheduled Meeting. The A-Z Of Cockney Rhyming Slang.

Hi folks and have I got a deal for you! Now because I missed out posting on Saturday, I bring you all a …

2-for-1

That’s right! That’s…

2 for 1

2 letters T and U combined to make 1 post, giving you exactly…

2-for-1 (1)

Unfortunately, since I’ve wasted time on advertising what a bloody bargain you’re all getting with my…

240_F_50818089_crQJ83Q3zHCW9yEnopV14bSgZIPhBore

there’s no time for a proper introduction. So straight on to today’s letters with are…

T

Cockney rhyming slang-Tea Leaf

Translation-Thief

U

Cockney rhyming slang-Unscheduled Meeting

Translation-Beating

Example from both-“When I get my German Bands (hands) on that bleedin’ tea leaf, he’ll be in for an unscheduled meeting.”

t and u

~Lily

16 thoughts on “T is for Tea Leaf, whilst U is for Unscheduled Meeting. The A-Z Of Cockney Rhyming Slang.

  1. Ah. So nice to have you back and offering such a great offering you offered upon your return. A BOGOF if ever I saw one. I hope you are feeling much better. A right pain in the aris when the side effects of the medication are worse than the symptoms.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Unfortunately, my twofer deal, 2 for the price of one, did not draw in the punters, so maybe I should have offered a BOGOG instead. I mean what more could you want? There’s s the promise of sex, violence and a BDSM Minion! Sometimes I give TOO much! 😉

      Thanks Mr D. And yeah, it was a pain in the aris, literally… I spent hours on that IV drip and my poor Aristotle was like a lump of bruised steak, only to come out sicker than I was before I went in! But I’m feeling much better today. 🙂

      Like

  2. Glad to see you back Miss Lily . . . . I think Tea Leave is probably the one bit of cockney rhyming most folk know, which says much about our society or maybe our politicians as they do like to hang about in central London in a large unruly flock picking over the bones of us ordinary folk as we go about our business pointing at seagulls and eating ice cream.

    Not many letters left now . . . . well less than 43

    Liked by 1 person

    • Thanks Mr Z.
      Heehee, I’ve got images a Thief going around London in the dead of night, breaking into cupboards and stealing people’s Tetleys.

      Something should be done about those flocks of Politicians. I swear one swooped down and snatched the sandwich straight from my hands! I think a cull is in order. If only people would stop feeding them, then they’d go away.

      Not long to go and I haven’t got ANYTHING to write about the remaining letters.

      Like

      • Just go with the flow Miss lily and make it up. I mean us Brits dont care and any Americans will think its correct . . . . .

        Sort of . . . I Veggie Pied (cried) into my Soup

        or . . . You are being a bit Wee Willy (silly). . . AH hang on that sounds more Billy Connolly

        or . . Its been a right rubbish X Ray (day) . . . . and so on, you can Quicksand Suet (do it) Miss Lily.

        Like

        • I don’t think I can be bothered anymore Mr Z. This close to the end, people just aren’t bothering to read or comment. At this stage, folks are only replying if you go and visit them first. It all gets a bit tiring all this tit for tat business. I shall just keep it simple and if I can’t think of anything, then I can’t think of anything.

          Like

    • Aww, thanks Kimberley, although I do love a Kenco Rich Roast. Don’t mind me, just sad that the challenge has lost it’s community spirit. 5 years ago, people were branching out, reading blogs they wouldn’t normally read and communicating. I made a lot of good blogging friends back then.Now it’s all self serving. Yes, the aim is to drive more people to our blogs, but the visiting and commenting on other blogs seems to have passed people by. Some blogs on the linky list haven’t received any visitors or any comments and one woman stated that she was told to avoid my blog! (No surprises since the A-Z crew seem to also avoid me like the plague) Sorry for the rant. I haven’t had my double chocolate mocha yet. 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

      • Hello again. Just popped in for a cuppa and a catch up. I seem to remember that the Challenge got to you the same way last year which just so happens to be the same time that I discovered your ramblings (courtesy of Monkey Boy). A circus dwarf had just landed in your lap and I made the comment that I must get a cannon. The rest is history. Odd that my brain remembers stuff like this but can’t remember the Keynesian Theory of Economics. So don’t despair Lily Moose, all is not lost cos it’s probably in your handbag along with your keys, phone, tissues, lip stick, your beard comb and a gazillion other sundry items that don’t belong there. Fings Can Only Get Better. And look at all the lovely people who DO read your Ramblings and make comments and stuff.
        Okay. I think I need shut up and go get that coffee. Then catch up on your more recent post thingies.
        Have a brilliant day.

        Like

        • Hahahaha! I can’t believe you remembered last year’s story. My best yet in my opinion. It had everything, sex, kidnappings, treachery, violence, midgets, jealousy and aliens. Steven Spielberg needs to make a sodding film out of my masterpiece.

          Ignore my rant, I was just feeling dejected that my blog seems to be on the list of ‘ones to avoid.’ But I realised that that just means that my blog is vastly different to what’s out there and that’s a good thing. (there’s a lot of ‘that’in that last sentence). There isn’t another Incoherent Ramblings in the blogosphere and I aim to keep it that way.
          And who told you about my beard comb? Well It’s not really a beard, more of a goatee really. And what the hell is the Keynesian Theory of whatnot?

          Have a great day Mr D. 🙂

          Liked by 1 person

          • How could I forget last years story? I’ve not been the same since!

            Spot on Ms Moose. There really is nothing quite like your Incoherent Ramblings in the entire known Universe and that’s a good thing.

            You told me you had a beard and you intended plaiting it. You have a beard you gotta have a beard comb. Logical Jim.

            John Maynard Keynes. British economist from the 30s and 40s. He got sent to the USA after WW2 to plead our case for not paying back the vast sums of money we had borrowed from them. (The Americans were not as generous as people think. They wanted payment). We only stopped paying them back a few years ago. Bit of a hero to me when I was at school. His economic theories were used to extricate the US from the Great Depression. Adolph Hitler used them for the pre war German economic strategy. Bit unfortunate that.

            Now I must go and finish trimming my bush. Have a great day

            Liked by 1 person

            • Thanks as always Mr D. 🙂
              Ooh, I forgot that I mentioned I like plait my beard like the Saxons. Damn, I’ve got the memory of a sponge.

              Okay, I know about the whole America holding us to ransom for centuries, but I didn’t know about Keynes himself. Very interesting. Might have to do some research.

              No-one likes an overgrown bush, so happy trimming.

              Liked by 1 person

  3. A 2 for 1 special is quite the bargain and great advertising! I’m glad you’re feeling better, Lily. 🙂

    Mr Grey’s unscheduled meeting with the kinky minion, oh that’s so bad but so perfect, I love it!!!

    Liked by 1 person

    • Not sure if any one who hasn’t seen the film or read the book, would get the whole ‘Grey’ thing. Needn’t have worried, cos hardly anyone read it now we’re all starting to suffer from alphabet fatigue. But thank you Madilyn, this one was one of my favourites.

      The cups of teas in bed and the hot toasts have stopped coming, which signifies that I am indeed on the mend. Seriously kids, you just can’t find the staff nowadays. 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply I won't bite...okay, maybe a little nibble...

