Q is for Queen’s Mum-The A-Z Of Cockney Rhyming Slang.

And now time for an advert I placed on Facebook a few years ago.

Male child for sale. Good condition. One previous owner.
Comes with own water sprinkling unit, although the nozzle may fire indiscriminately when not aimed correctly.
Decibel set from low pitch, to pitch only dogs can hear.
Attitude button is faulty, but behaviour button just needs readjusting…although this could take years.
Offer wont last, so call today!
Special discount if you buy now and take home the same day.
NO RETURNS! NO REFUNDS!
Get your FREE male child today and you too can be tired, frustrated, annoyed and driven to the brink of insanity.
HURRY WHILE SANITY AND STOCKS LAST!

 

Of course there is no way that I would really sell my child on Facebook which would be both cruel and insensitive. I’d sell him on eBay  where I’d get a much higher price.

Q

Cockney rhyming slang-Queen’s Mum

Translation-Bum

Example-“Ere, that ole bird (woman/girl) over there, has a boat race (face) exactly like the Queen’s mum.”

bum_400x400

~Lily

15 thoughts on “Q is for Queen’s Mum-The A-Z Of Cockney Rhyming Slang.

  1. The poor old queen mum will be turning over in her grave. . . . although that might be just due to a bit too much Gin.

    O god this alphabet is long I’m starting to get bored now . . I just have the letter V left to write now and then I will have written it all and I need to draw a couple of pictures. What is really annoying is I have lost my little drilly thing that looks like a dentists drill. Not that I need it for the A to Z but it has vanished off the face of the earth, I blame hobbits or elves, although my wife says I am rubbish at remembering stuff even on a good day. I’m sure that cant be true or I would remember, but I do have a habit of putting stuff in odd places. Is that bottom meant to be wearing traditional Welsh dress. Those Welsh sure know how to party.

    OK I better go, I thought I would watch Master Chef that should just about distract me from alphabets and drilly things that have vanished

    Liked by 1 person

    • I liked the Queen’s mum, but that woman had so much gin in her, that if she’d been cremated, whole of London would have burnt down…again.

      I can’t believe you’re almost done with your posts! I do mine about an hour before I post them. (hence the brilliant quality of each piece, as I’m sure you can tell)
      I’m not bored of the challenge but I am feeling slightly lacklustre towards it. I’m not sure if there will even be a post come the morn.

      Hope you find your drilly thing.:)

      Like

  2. LOL about your advert on FB, good one, Lily!! 🙂 “Queen’s Mum” for Bum, oh that is too funny. I love how you used all that Cockney slang in a sentence. OMG that image, yikes, that boat race is a Queen’s Mum for sure!!!

    Liked by 1 person

    • Thanks Madilyn. I’m surprised CPS weren’t at my door that day.

      That picture is hideous, but believe me, it was the tamest one that I could find on the internet. Lord have mercy on my blackened soul, but the things people post!

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply I won't bite...okay, maybe a little nibble...

