A-Z Challenge: M is for Memories

Follow the trials and tribulations of Lily, a beautiful young woman and the love of her life, Guido an Italian circus midget. Every word of this tale is true, apart from those which are not, which amounts to around 99.99.5% of the story, so er…none of it then…

Memories

It was dark, so very dark. If I were perchance to hold out my hands before my eyes, they would not have been perceivable in the gloom that surrounded me. Besides, my hands were now tied behind my back and it would have been way too dark to see them if they weren’t…on account of the fact that it was dark. The longer I sat there, alone and frightened, the quicker the darkness begun to permeate my heart.

singer2

A scuffling sound came from my left and I turned my head towards the din. But of course, it was too dark to see and I cursed the fact that I had become such a cliche. When one is alone and defeated, the only thing that remains, are memories.

singer3

At that moment, memories were all that I had. At that realization, the gloom seemed to lift… Nope…sorry, my bad, it was still pretty dark. They were the one constant gift that I could cling to in this dank and fetid place. They were the treasures of a time gone by that remained the same…except for all those times where I couldn’t fully recollect occasions and that’s when they changed…which meant that they didn’t actually stay the same. But still, they were a perfect way for me to look back fondly on the events of my past and to remember vividly the colourful life that I had once led…apart from those that I couldn’t really remember, or envisage.

singer4

And as I sat there, my arms numb from being tightly bound, I could not help but think, shit, my memory sucks! That’s when I started to ponder the events that had directed me to where I was now. Who would want to kidnap me? And for what purpose? Just then, I thought that I could see movement from within the inky blackness. Maybe it was a trick of the light, except that it was far too dark for that to be a factual statement.

singer5

There it was again, the sound that I had heard earlier. I peered intently into the dimness, only to remember that it was too bloody dark to do so. “Damn this darkness!! I shouted in frustration. “And damn you,” came a sibilant hiss. That voice. I knew that voice and if my memory was any sodding good, I would have remembered who that voice belonged to.

singer6

To be continued…

~Lily

17 thoughts on “A-Z Challenge: M is for Memories

  1. I couldn’t help but read it with a soulful background music inside my head.

    And i think i remember something about being bound. 3 strikes and you are out. Is that what’s going on here but in the dark instead? hmmmm interesting! 🙂

    Like

  2. How dastardly that the hissing captor left you tied up in wretched darkness! Is it Julia? Or? At least you have memories of times gone by that remain the same, well, except for when they change! So tricky, those memories in the corners of our minds (which is the whole problem, they ought to be in the top of our minds and not lurking in the corners!). Good memory though for those songs, Lily. I especially love the Barbra Streisand song from the movie “The Way We Were” (and Robert Redford was so sexy in that movie!). OK, now I’ve got to go play the song! Oh, hope you don’t stay in that darkness too long!

    Like

    • That Julia is turning out to be a right royal pain the derriere…if it is her of course.

      I have a great memory, except for when it’s not working. And I can remember quite a lot of things, apart from those that I keep forgetting.

      I was singing The Way We Were, whilst writing this post. So I thought it only fitting that I should add the words.

      Yeah, the Redford was sexy in that movie. But hey, if a guy has a pulse, then he’s sexy to me.

      Liked by 1 person

    • Water dripping? Yeah, sorry about that. My pelvic floor muscles ain’t what they used to be.

      If it was My Grey, he wouldn’t be able to ‘whip’ up an omelette, nevermind my derriere by the time I’d have finished with him.

      Like

  3. I am often doomed with talking or seeing folk who I know well and see everyday and then realise I cant remember who they are. DAMN the human brain its rubbish and that’s for sure. At least you are in the dark and cant remember.

    The words Christian Grey turn up as part of the Rev Oscar Overlap Oppenheimer’s work on the letter O (well that’s a surprise) but not in a way folk might expect. . . . . . OOOooooooo. You see what I did there Miss Lily I have sneakily used your post to add a bit of extra suspense to my own when we reach O. . . . its a dog eat dog life, which interestedly is due to arrive tomorrow at N . . . . .Yep I did it again.

    Like

    • Lord knows I need to add SOME sort of suspense Mr Z.

      Hahaha! Okay, now you’ve got me intrigued. A post featuring Christian Grey. And I’m almost scared to know what you’re going to write for N. Knowing You, it probably is about a dog eating a dog.

      Like

    • The thought of Barbra Streisand, or Brabra as I called her when I was a kid, standing in the corner of a dark cellar and crooning away whilst all that is happening, is priceless.

      Like

Leave a Reply I won't bite...okay, maybe a little nibble...

